Ralph Stair Prize

Inaugurated in 2013, the Ralph Stair Prize in Innovative Education is awarded biennially to an individual or collaborative team at FSU who has developed innovative education approaches that demonstrate the potential of having great impact nationally and internationally. The prize includes a $2,500 award from the endowment for the Ralph Stair Prize in Innovative Education.

"Innovative educational approaches" include but are not limited to the following: textbooks, Internet sites, distance learning approaches, online delivery of course materials and content, instructor materials, student materials, uses of technology to enhance learning and evaluation of learning.
The Ralph Stair Prize stresses innovation. Nominees must show evidence of creating innovative approaches, materials, or technology, not simply using existing approaches, materials, or technology effectively.

This award is open to all FSU faculty, instructors, lecturers, adjuncts, and others involved in teaching and the development of educational materials.

Nominations are due March 22, 2023.


All FSU faculty, instructors, lecturers, adjuncts, and others involved in teaching and the development of educational materials may be nominated.

Special consideration may be given to faculty nominees from the College of Business, in keeping with the donor's wishes.

Nominations may come from the nominee, an FSU colleague, an FSU student, or the nominee's department chair or college dean.

The awardee cannot win consecutive terms and must wait one award cycle before being eligible for another nomination.

Nomination Requirements:

Letter of nomination explaining the educational innovation. This letter should cite evidence of the success of the practice and explain its impact or potential impact on the discipline broadly. This letter should not exceed two pages.

One-page curriculum vitae for nominee.

Nominee's personal statement describing the key contributions of the innovation. This statement should give a clear picture of the nominee's work with students, particularly undergraduates, and the nominee's innovative approach to teaching and learning. This should be no longer than three pages.

Three letters of support from current or former students and/or colleagues.

Submission Requirements:

All materials must be submitted electronically to Peggy Wright-Cleveland at mwrightc@fsu.edu by close of business, Wednesday, March 22, 2023.

Review Process:

After nomination packets are received by the Office of Faculty Development and Advancement, nominees/nominators will receive an email confirming the receipt.

A peer review team will review the nominations and make recommendations to the Provost.

The Provost will select the award winner who will be recognized at the University Faculty Awards ceremony.


2023 Winner - Stephanie Zuilkowski
2021 Winner - Elçin Haskollar and Tanu Kohli Bagwe
2021 Winner - Marlo Ransdell
2019 Winner - Andy Opel, College of Communication and Information
2017 Winner - Rabieh Razzouk, Learning Systems Institute
2015 Winner - Machelle Denine Madsen Thompson, College of Social Work
2013 Winner - Todd Bacile, College of Business
2013 Winner - Michael Neal, Department of English