Suzanne Johnson selected for Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award


Suzanne Johnson, research professor in Medical Humanities & Social Sciences, has been selected for the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award presented by the American Psychological Association and sponsored by Wells Fargo Philanthropic Services. This award was created "to benefit teachers who have inspired their former students to make a difference in their communities."

Steven Pfeiffer to give keynote


Steven I. Pfeiffer, Professor and Director of Clinical Training, will be one of four keynote speakers at "The Development of Giftedness and Talent in 21st Century," to be held on October 5th - 6th, 2013 in Toulouse (France). For more information on the conference, please see the website

Faculty Writing Retreat


Do you need to jump start a writing project? Are you looking for that perfect time in your schedule to begin that proposal or finish revising that manuscript?

The Office of Faculty Recognition is sponsoring a Faculty Writing Retreat next Friday, September 20 from 8:00 until noon in Strozier Library. Come learn some ways to confront writer's block, enjoy the camaraderie of fellow writers, and finally commit to getting that project started. We will even provide the coffee!!

RSVP to Peggy Wright-Cleveland by noon on Thursday, September 19. Space limited.

James Sampson awarded Research and Development Award


James P. Sampson, Jr., Mode L. Stone Distinguished Professor of Counseling and Career Development and Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Administration in the College of Education, has been awarded the Research and Development Award given by the Alliance of Career Resource Professionals. This award is given for "research and development work that exemplifies ACRP’s mission."

Lisa Ryoko Wakamiya receives Senior Fellowship


Lisa Ryoko Wakamiya, associate professor of Russian and Slavic studies, has received a Senior Fellowship from Harvard's Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies, which will allow her to finish her latest book. For more information on this honor, please click here for an article by Barry Ray

Report from a Fulbrighter-in-Field: Suzanne Sinke


Suzanne Sinke, associate professor of History, is currently working on a Fulbright in Austria. Recently, she was featured in a local Salzburg newspaper. Please see the attachment below for the article in German. Below her picture, the caption reads, "The academic climate in Austria trains students better for thoughtful reflection -- it demands careful listening, no switching to Facebook, no entertainment.  At the end of a class the students applaud by knocking their fists on their desks politely.  Just as some of my colleagues here admire elements of my lecturing style, I admire a system that demands concentration and substance."

Bahram Arjmandi wins Abbott Nutrition Award in Women's Health


Bahram Arjmandi, Margaret A. Sitton Professor and Chair NFES, has won the Abbott Nutrition Award in Women's Health awarded by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. 

Ellen Taaffe Zwilich named Honorary Member of SAM


Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, Francis Eppes Distinguished Professor of Composition, has been named as a 2014 Honorary Member of the Society for American Music (SAM). 

Judy Tsou, president of SAM, made the following statement:

"I am pleased to announce that composer Ellen Taaffe Zwilich has accepted our invitation to be the next Honorary Member of SAM. As most of you know, Ms. Zwilich is a much-honored composer, being the first woman to win the Pulitzer Prize in music with her Symphony No. 1 in 1983. Since then she has been awarded the Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge Chamber Music Prize, the Arturo Toscanini Critics Award, the prestigious Guggenheim Fellowship, and many other awards. New Grove Online calls her 'one of America’s most frequently played and genuinely popular living composers.' We are privileged that Ms. Zwilich will accept the Honorary Membership in person at the Society’s next conference in March, 2014 in Lancaster, Pennsylvania and an exact date and time for the Ceremony will be announced at a later date."

Betsy Becker elected Fellow of AERA


Betsy Becker, Mode L. Stone Distinguished Professor of Educational Statistics and Chair of the Department of Educational Psychology and Learning Systems, has been elected Fellow of the American Educational Research Association.

For more information, please view the YouTube video at The College of Education has also posted an article about this prestigious achievement.

Bryan J. Cuevas awarded Guggenheim Fellowship


Bryan J. Cuevas, John F. Priest Professor of Religion, has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship. Please see the related article posted on the website of the College of Arts & Sciences.