Faculty Information Session: Extraordinary Accomplishments and Faculty Awards


The Office of Faculty Recognition will be holding an information session regarding the Extraordinary Accomplishments Program and faculty awards. 

When: Wednesday, March 19, 2014, 12:00 PM-1:30 PM
Where: Suwannee Room, William Johnston Building

Young-Suk Kim receives 2013 PECASE award


Young-Suk Kim, Associate Professor of Reading and Language Arts, has received the 2013 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) award. The official press release may be found at http://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2013/12/23/president-obama-honors-outstanding-early-career-scientists. Dr. Kim will be recognized in an official ceremony in Washington, D. C., later this year.

Faculty Luncheon Series


Presbyterian University Center
Spring 2014

Tuesday, January 14
Speaker: Felicia C. Coleman, Director, FSU Coastal Marine laboratory
Topic: “Rebirth of the FSU Marine Lab: Forecasting the Future of Marine Science at FSU”

Tuesday, February 11
Speaker: Barbara R. Foorman, Director, Florida Center for Reading Research at FSU
Topic: “Using the Science of Reading to Close the Achievement Gap”

Tuesday, March 25
Speaker: Alan G. Marshall, Director, FSU Ion Cyclotron Resonance Program
Topic: “Petroleomics: High-Tech Diagnosis and Cures for Petroleum Crude Oil Production and Spill Problems”

Tuesday, April 8
Speaker: Terrence Coonan, Director, FSU Center for the Advancement of Human Rights
Topic: “Human Trafficking”

The series will take place at the Presbyterian University Center, 548 W. Park Ave. Luncheons begin at 12:15 and the programs follow at 12:40. Lunches are $10 per session or $40 for the series. Reservations for the luncheons are required. Mail reservation requests to the Presbyterian University Center, 548 W. Park Ave., Tallahassee, FL 32301, with a check made payable to the Presbyterian University Center and clearly marked "Faculty Luncheon Series." In order to pay at the door, call the Center for a reservation at (850) 222-6320 or send an email to floridastatepuc@gmail.com.

For more information, please visit the FSU Faculty Luncheon Series on Facebook or visit their official homepage at http://facultyluncheon.cci.fsu.edu/.

Rochelle Marrinan receives Lifetime Achievement Award


Dr. Rochelle Marrinan, an expert zooarchaeologist working in the comparative zoology collection in the Department of Anthropology, has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Southeastern Archaeological Conference. According to Dr. Glen Doran, Professor and Chair of Anthropology, "SEAC is the largest regional anthropology/archaeological society in the eastern United States.  It is an award of her peers and professional colleagues in recognition of her contributions to the field." The SEAC website states, "This award is normally awarded at the Annual Meeting to a senior colleague in recognition of demonstrated excellence in the study of the archaeology of the Southeastern United States." Attached is a copy of the SEAC Lifetime Achievement Award

2012-2013 Distance Learning Awards


On Wednesday, November 13, 2013, the annual Distance Learning Awards ceremony took place at the Augustus B. Turnbull III Florida State Conference Center. The Office of Distance Learning manages Florida State University's online learning environments, and these awards recognize leading instructors of record and mentors for their contributions. For more information on this new awards program, please visit the Office of Distance Learning's awards website.

Award categories and winners are listed below:

For those who could not attend and in response to the many requests for media from the event, here is a link to a video vignette of the Ceremony http://distance.fsu.edu/instructors/2012-2013-distance-learning-awards.  You can also scroll down on the page for individual awardee’s photos and videos.

Fulbright update from Mary Stewart


Mary Stewart, Professor of Art, has recently been working in Canada through the Fulbright Senior Specialist Program. Please click on the attached newsletter in order to read about her experiences.

Richard Feiock named managing editor of Public Administration Review


Richard Feiock, Augustus B. Turnbull Professor of Public Administration & The Jerry Collins Eminent Scholar, has been named managing editor of Public Administration Review (PAR). Please see the attached document and visit the College of Social Sciences' news announcement for more information. 

Maxine Montgomery appointed as the Frances Cushing Ervin Professor of English


Maxine Montgomery has been appointed as the Frances Cushing Ervin Professor of English for 2014-2016. Please see the announcement below by Eric Walker, Chair of English:

"Please join me in congratulating Professor Maxine Montgomery on her appointment as the Frances Cushing Ervin Professor of English for 2014-2016.  The Ervin Professorship is made possible through the generosity of the Ervin family, which includes our emeritus colleague Anne Ervin Rowe, who retired in 2011 as Dean of the Faculties and Professor of English.
Professor Montgomery's fourth book, an edited collection of new critical essays on the fiction of Toni Morrison, is forthcoming from Cambridge Scholars Press. She was the recipient of the Dr. Martin Luther King Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award at FSU in 2010.
We are very grateful for Professor Montgomery's many contributions to the research, teaching, and service missions of the department, the College, and the University."

Patrick Merle gives guest lecture at Drake University


Patrick Merle, assistant professor of Communication, will be giving a guest lecture at Drake University on Tuesday, November 19, at 6:30 p.m. Please see the The Secret Life of a Passport poster.

Update: More information is now available through the attached  Press Release for Patrick Merle

Anna Karenina Reading Marathon


The Office of Faculty Recognition will be hosting the 3rd annual Reading Marathon on October 15-16, 2013 at Strozier Library. This year, the classic Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy has been chosen. For more information, please see the article by FSU News. To sign up to read for 15 minutes at this event, please click on the VolunteerSpot button below.