Faculty Awards and University Ranking


Faculty awards are a very important part of recognition at Florida State University. The Board of Governor's considers 23 organizations named on the TARU/CMUP list as being highly prestigious and connected with funding that Florida State University receives on an annual basis. To review this list, please visit our Faculty Awards and University Ranking page at http://ofr.fsu.edu/Award-Application-Information/Faculty-Awards-and-University-Ranking.

NSF CAREER Proposal Writing Workshop


The Vice President for Research and the Office of Proposal Development will be hosting an NSF CAREER Proposal Writing Workshop on Monday, April 6, from 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. For more information, please visit http://www.research.fsu.edu/research-offices/opd/workshopstraining/nsf-career-proposal-writing-workshop-2015.

Office of Proposal Development hosts Nonprofit Networking: FSU/INIE Connect


The Office of Proposal Development will be hosting an event called Nonprofit Networking: FSU/INIE Connect on March 26, 2015, 3:30 p.m. until 6:30 p.m. The Office of Proposal Development hopes to facilitate faculty in making lasting connections with local groups and ultimately have better grant/fellowship proposals. For more information about this event, please visit http://www.research.fsu.edu/research-offices/opd/workshopstraining/nonprofit-networking.

Roy Baumeister receives Humboldt Research Award


Roy Baumeister, the Francis Eppes Professor of Psychology, has received the Humboldt Research Award. According to the Humboldt Foundation's website, "The award is granted in recognition of a researcher's entire achievements to date to academics whose fundamental discoveries, new theories, or insights have had a significant impact on their own discipline and who are expected to continue producing cutting-edge achievements in the future."

For more information, please see http://news.fsu.edu/Top-Stories/Renowned-psychologist-receives-prestigious-international-research-award.

Erin Belieu and Barbara Hamby win medals at Florida Book Awards


Erin Belieu and Barbara Hamby each won medals in the Poetry category at the 2014 Florida Book AwardsErin Belieu, professor of Creative Writing, won the gold medal for Slant Six. Barbara Hamby, Distinguished University Scholar of Creative Writing, won the silver medal for On the Street of Divine Love. For more information on the Florida Book Awards, please visit http://floridabookawards.lib.fsu.edu/.

Katherine Mooney receives honorable mention for the Frederick Jackson Turner Prize


Katherine Mooney, assistant professor of History, has received honorable mention for the Frederick Jackson Turner Prize of the Organizational of American Historians for her book Racehorse Men: How Slavery and Freedom were made at the Racetrack. The prize is awarded to the best first book in the field of American history.

Andrea De Giorgi receives Research Fellowship


Andrea De Giorgi, assistant professor of Classics, has received a Research Fellowship for Spring 2016 at the Research Center of Ancient Studies of the Berliner Antike-Kolleg.

According to Daniel Pullen, chair of Classics, "The Research Center of Ancient Studies (RCAS) is a center for international cooperation in the ancient studies. Fellows from all over the world give vital impulses to research, while conferences, meetings and workshops promote academic exchange and strengthen Berlin’s position as an international center for the ancient studies."

Harrison Prosper elected Fellow of AAAS


Harrison Prosper, professor of Physics, has been elected as a 2014 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). The Fellows induction ceremony will be held at 8:00 a.m. on Saturday, February 14, 2015 in San Jose, California.

Neuroscience faculty appointed to national offices


Dr. Carlos Bolaños has been appointed Chair of the 2015 Minority Task Force of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology. Dr. Bolaños is also currently serving on the Biobehavioral Regulation, Learning and Ethology Study Section at the Center for Scientific Review at the National Institutes of Health.

Dr. Debra Fadool is the current (2014-2015) President of the Association for Chemoreception Sciences.

Alan Spector receives the 2014 Hoebel Prize


Dr. Alan Spector, professor of Psychology and Neuroscience, has received the 2014 Hoebel Prize for Creativity from the Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior. According to the SSIB website, "This Prize is intended to honor a SSIB member, at any stage of their career, for an exceptional level of creativity and excellence in his or her research on ingestive behavior. This research should constitute a significant advance in our understanding of mechanisms controlling ingestive behavior and have the potential of benefiting society by elucidating methods for treating or preventing disorders of ingestive behavior."