

November 7, 2018

MEMORANDUM

To: Academic Deans, Department Chairs and Directors

From: Janet Kistner

Vice President for Faculty Development and Advancement

Subject: Spring 2019 FSU Certification of Instructor Qualifications

Deadline: Friday, January 11, 2019

In order to comply with the guidelines established by FSU Policy 3A-2, "Policy for Credentialing Faculty Members," the academic dean of each college is required to certify, in writing, that:

- 1. Each adjunct instructor of record (including post-docs and staff members) meets Policy (and SACSCOC) guidelines (i.e. holds a Master's degree in the teaching discipline, has earned at least 18 graduate credit hours in the teaching discipline, or is qualified based on other credentials) for teaching the course which they have been assigned to teach; and
- 2. Any full-time faculty member instructor of record (tenure-track, specialized, visiting, and non-tenure-track) who is assigned to teach a course outside the academic field in which they earned the terminal degree is qualified based on other credentials (i.e., other degrees and related work experience, demonstrated competencies and achievements).

Each dean, or school director of a stand-alone school, must submit certifications of instructors, using the attached form, to the Vice President for Faculty Development and Advancement by Friday, January 11, 2019 (See instructions at the top of the form for more details). You will find detailed information about instructor-credential requirements in "Policy for Credentialing Faculty Members," at http://policies.fsu.edu/policies/faculty-development-and-advancement (FSU Policy 3A-2).

Certifying the credentials of graduate teaching assistants will be done online using the Graduate Student Tracking System.

This memorandum will be posted to the Office of Faculty Development and Advancement website at http://fda.fsu.edu/faculty-employment/faculty-credentialing. Please direct any questions regarding this procedure as appropriate to your dean's office, school director, or to the Office of Faculty Development and Advancement.

Attachment (fill-in pdf format)

cc: President John Thrasher
Provost Sally McRorie
Dean Mark Riley
Associate Vice President Renisha Gibbs