• 2.jpg
  • 4.jpg
  • 5.jpg
  • 9.jpg
  • 7.jpg
  • 6.jpg

News Articles

Executive Order on Immigration


President Thrasher's statement regarding the Presidential Executive Order may also be read at https://news.fsu.edu/news/university-news/2017/01/29/president-thrasher-statement-executive-order.

photo of Norman Anderson

National Academy member to join FSU


Norman Anderson, an eminent psychologist and member of the National Academy of Medicine, will join the Florida State University faculty with primary appointments as a research professor in both the College of Social Work and the College of Nursing. He also will serve as assistant vice president for research and academic affairs.

photo of Lev Petrovich Gor'kov

In memoriam - Lev Gor’kov


Lev Petrovich Gor'kov, professor of physics and leading theorist at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, passed away on December 28, 2016.

The National High Magnetic Field Laboratory memorial page can be found at:

photo of Amy Ai

Amy Ai named fellow of American Psychological Association


Amy Ai, professor of Social Work, has been selected as a fellow of the American Psychological Association, Division 56, Trauma Psychology. This is her fourth APA division fellow nomination.

This award is also listed by the National Research Council as a Prestigious award.

photo of Meegan Kennedy

Meegan Kennedy awarded NEH grant


Meegan Kennedy, associate professor of English, has been awarded a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, which will allow her to research the effects of the microscope on scientific, cultural and religious trends of the 19th century.

This award is also listed by the National Research Council as a Highly Prestigious award.

photo of Alan Marshall

Alan Marshall named fellow of National Academy of Inventors


Alan G. Marshall, the Robert O. Lawton Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, has been named a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.

For more information, please visit http://news.fsu.edu/news/science-technology/2016/12/13/fsu-scientist-elected-national-academy-inventors.

Srivastava and Whalley elected fellows of IEEE


Anuj Srivastava, Professor of Statistics, and David Whalley, Professor of Computer Science, have been elected Fellows of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

Photo of Yan-Yan Hu

Yan-Yan Hu wins AAAS Marion Milligan Mason Award


Yan-Yan Hu, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, has won the prestigious Marion Milligan Mason Award from the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). According to the AAAS website, this award is given "to support Women in the Chemical Sciences to kickstart the research career of promising future senior investigators in the chemical sciences."

photo of Paolo Annino

Paolo Annino selected winner Father Robert Drinan Award


Paolo Annino, Glass Professor of Public Interest Law, has been selected as the winner of the 2017 Father Robert Drinan Award from the Association of American Law Schools (AALS). This award is presented "to a faculty member or administrator whose work on behalf of pro bono and public interest programs is truly extraordinary."