



Department of Risk Management/Insurance, Real Estate & Business Law College of Business Tallahassee, Florida 32306-1110 (850) 644-9933

> FAX: (850) 644-4077 email: bmarsha@cob.fsu.edu

November 23, 2004

To: Deans, Directors, and Department Chairs

From: The Named Professorship Committee

Robert Marshall, Chair

Re: The Recommendation of Candidates for Named

Professorships 2004-2005

The President and the Provost have approved the awarding of Named Professorships for the academic year 2004-2005. A copy of the guidelines for The President and the Provost's Named Professorship Program is appended to this announcement.

The Named Professorship Committee now invites Deans and Department Chairs to recommend candidates to be considered for this round of awards. Please read carefully the guidelines for the program as you think about potential candidates for the awards. If your unit wishes to send forward recommendations as stipulated in the guidelines, please have all of the relevant materials sent to the Committee in care of the Dean of the Faculties Office by January 14, 2005. The Committee needs only one copy of the binder or notebook containing the supporting materials. Recommendations received after that date will not be eligible for this round of awards.

The documentation for each candidate must be complete as prescribed by the guidelines in order for a candidate to be evaluated by the Committee. Inadequately prepared folders for recommended faculty will not be considered. The responsibility for both the recommendation of a candidate and the documentation in support of a candidate resides with the Deans and Chairs. Binders of two past awardees are available for your review in the Dean of the Faculties Office; please contact Jocelyn Clarke at 644-1259 if you are interested in reviewing these binders.

Remember that this is not an award for which an individual faculty member may apply; however, the extent of the involvement of a faculty candidate in the preparation of the required documentation is at the discretion of the respective Dean and Chair. Letters solicited in support of a candidate should be done by the Chair and/or the Dean.

In considering faculty as potential candidates please note that the award requires evaluation of performance in the three traditional areas of responsibility not merely in one or two areas. This should be a fundamental point in the selection candidates to be recommended. The Provost, in conjunction with the Committee, has been very explicit in formulating and implementing the guidelines; this is not a research award or a teaching award per se. The Provost has clarified his view consistently, and with the concurrence of the Committee, that a first rate researcher who has a record of so-so teaching does not constitute a positive recommendation or vice-versa. The Committee is thus committed to ensuring that our top-flight faculty are honored for their accomplishments and their continuing work.

Faculty who receive the awards in this academic year will do so retroactive to the beginning of Fall Semester 2004.

cc: President Wetherell
Provost Abele
Steering Committee
Ms. Linda Gross